History and Accolades

The Muslim Community Network, formerly the Muslim Consultative Network, was founded in 2003 as a network of Muslim activists and volunteers responding to challenges facing the Muslim American community since 9/11. MCN became a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization in 2008. MCN programs focus on a need to build strong community partnerships, empower the community to self-advocate for their rights and interests, and encourage a culture of civic engagement.

MCN Co-Founders and Board Members Emeritus:

Imam al-Haji
Aisha al-Adawiya
Adem Carroll (Executive Director 2008-2010)

Additional Board Members Emeritus:

Robina Niaz
Nurah Amatullah
Moushumi M. Khan
Abdulsalam Musa
Sarah Sayeed

(List in formation)

Recognition Received:

  • On April 26, 2015, NYC Comptroller Scott Stringer recognized MCN’s work at their 5th Annual Gala.
  • MCN received a state of New York Legislative Resolution from Senator Kevin Parker commending the Muslim Consultative Network upon the occasion of hosting its annual gala on June 12, 2011.
  • MCN was given the David P. Marciniak Defy Diabetes award in December 2010 in appreciation of our commitment to educate the community about diabetes.
  • On June 22, 2010, The Brooklyn Smoke Free partnership recognized MCN for their work in protecting Brooklyn residents from second hand smoke, defending youth against tobacco addiction and helping smokers find the resources to quit.
  • MCN received the Disaster Relief Volunteer award in August 2007 for the talent of its volunteers during the 2007 Brooklyn tornado and Queens flood relief.

MCN current and past grants received:

  • El Hibri Charitable Foundation (2012, 2013)
  • Resist Inc. (2013, 2014)
  • Samuel Rubin Foundation (2013, 2014, 2015)
  • Collegiate Church Corporation (2013)
  • Ben and Jerry’s Foundation (2012)
  • Riverside Church’s Sharing Fund (2012)
  • North Star Fund (2011)
  • Lucius and Eva Eastman Fund (2011)
  • Brooklyn Smoke Free Partnership (2010)
  • Institute for Leadership, Inc. (2010)
  • New York Council  of Non-Profits (2010)
  • American Legacy Foundation (2009, 2010)